Resources

I have been working on a “Resources” page that you will find here on this blog.  I have added some links with very helpful information.  I believe strongly in educating yourself as much as you can.  I was thinking back to my high school days, to a teacher who really shaped how I go about gathering information.  I wish I could remember her name. It was probably more like 2 or 3 teachers that strongly influenced my education, thought processes, and how to pursue knowledge.  I hear their voices in my head to this day saying things like, “Don’t believe everything you hear, or read, or are told.” “Investigate several sources of information and make sure they are reliable sources.” When we had to write a research paper, or debate a topic, she would make us write or debate the other side of the issue from which we currently believed.  That was very extremely helpful!  We had to try and prove the “other side” of the argument. I am so grateful for their influence.

The first resource that I want to highlight is a Grand Rounds presentation by  pediatrician, Dr. Joani Jack.  (For those who do not know what Grand Rounds are, they are an integral component of medical education. They present clinical problems in medicine by focusing on current or interesting cases.) Here is the link for her presentation on the genetics of human sexuality.  Don’t worry, it is written in understandable language!  After reading this it occurred to me that we (at least those in the church) approach sexuality from a totally spiritual view.  We do not look at it through a physical/medical lens.  (And my thoughts go back to how the same thing happened with viewing the world as flat, origins of epilepsy or mental illness, etc.) The nurse in me had that “duh!” moment.  I am one of those people, and one of those nurses, that believe in approaching care of people/patients in a holistic way.  Simply put, we are not just a physical being, or not just a spiritual being in this particular case.  Those are only a part of the whole person.  We have a physical part, an emotional/mental part, a relational part, and a spiritual part.  How magnificent and complex our Maker is, huh?

I hope that you will take the time to read the presentation and to reflect on what you have learned.  I strongly encourage all of you who read this to soul search with a holistic approach.  This world we live in is physical, emotional, relational, and spiritual.  Let us remember that.

Please share any links you may have that have been helpful in your journey.  I will continually be looking and adding these to the “Resources” page.

My prayer for you today is that you will be in awe of our Creator and that you will be able to embrace the mysteries you face.  I pray that you can become peaceful about not having all the answers.  I pray that you be an instrument of peace, of love, and of kindness.  I pray for protection from spiritual arrogance, both from within your own self or from others. I pray that all of us begin to sow seeds of grace and safe places; to allow others some freedom to be different, and having a respectful posture towards one another in that. This is my prayer for us today.  Amen

 

Leave a Reply

